Rostock, 07.06.2015 (LEN) - The Arena European Diving Championships are not only the first major championships of the European Swimming Federation (LEN) this year but also an important milestone for the continental diving elite on the road to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro (August 5-21). Following the 2014 European Championships in Berlin (GER), Europe’s best springboard and platform divers will meet again in Rostock on June 9-14, 2015.

Already in 2013 Europe’s diving elite met in the old Hanseatic city on the Baltic coast for the European Championships. So Germany and the DSV will be hosting these championships for the third time in a row.

15 months prior to the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil and only eight weeks before the 2015 FINA World Championships in Kazan, Russia (July 24-August 9), 19 LEN Member Federations – headed by the powerful team of host Germany and challenger Great Britain as organiser of the 2016 European Championships in London (May 9 to 23) - have registered to participate in the event.

19 nations to compete

It is expected that almost the complete European diving elite will compete in Rostock as the Europeans will be one of altogether seven qualifying events for the 2016 Olympics. The winners of the 3m springboard and 10m platform events at continental championships – consequently Rostock 2015, too – will automatically obtain a quota place for their National Olympic Committee for Rio de Janeiro. Further Olympic berths will be determined at the World Championships in Kazan and the FINA Diving World Cup in Rio de Janeiro (February 23-28, 2016).

In 2009, the first ever stand-alone European Diving Championships (former European Diving Cup) took place in Turin, Italy. Since then the divers have had the opportunity to compete at a continental event each year. In even years, diving is an integral part of the LEN European Championships.

A total of 11 disciplines (1m, 3m springboard, 10m platform, as well as 3m and 10m synchro, for men and women and the team event) will be on the schedule. The team event - to be held for the fourth time - is an official European Championship event since 2012. Diving (3m springboard and 10m platform) has been on the programme of the European Championships since its first edition in Budapest in 1926 (in the men’s category, the women were included one year later in Bologna). The synchronised diving events have been introduced to the European Championships for the first time in 1997 in Seville.

General information

  • Opened in 1955, the Neptun-Schwimmhalle offers optimum conditions for carrying out top class competitions in swimming and diving. It has been host to two European Diving Championships (2013, 2015) as well as to many other diving competitions such as national championships or the “International Springertag Rostock”, included within the FINA Grand Prix calendar for many years. In 1996, the Neptun-Schwimmhalle was also host of the first European Short Course Swimming Championships.
  • Further information (Venue, Schedule, Ticket Sales) at:
  • The Championships’ Twitter account: and Facebook:


    Tuesday, June 09, 2015

    16.30 hrs: Opening Ceremony
    17.30 hrs: Team Event – Final

    Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    15.30 hrs: 1m Springboard Men – Final
    17.30 hrs: Platform Women – Final

    Thursday, June 11, 2015
    15.30 hrs: 3m Springboard Men – Final
    17.30 hrs: Synchronised Platform Women – Final

    Friday, June 12, 2015
    15.30 hrs: 1m Springboard Women – Final
    17.30 hrs: Synchronised 3m Men – Final

    Saturday, June 13, 2015
    14.00 hrs: Synchronised 3m Women – Final
    16.00 hrs: Platform Men – Final

    Sunday, June 14, 2015
    14.00 hrs: Synchronised 10m Men – Final
    16.00 hrs: 3m Springboard Women – Final

    LEN Media Team
    mobile: +49 (0)170 44 73 140