Rostock (LEN) - It was simply impossible to defeat Italy’s Tania Cagnotto and Francesca Dallapè in the 3m synchro at the Arena European Diving Championships in Rostock – with a total of 313.08 points to their name, the duo relegated Germany’s Tina Punzel and Nora Subschinski (302.70 points) to second place. At the same time the Italians claimed their seventh consecutive title in this event. Russia’s Nadezhda Bazhina and Kristina Ilinykh (298.50) were greatly disappointed with their third place result.

“Of course I’m a bit relieved that we extended our winning series today,” said a happy Tania Cagnotto. “We’re really happy,” she added. It was Cagnotto’s 16th title at European Championships and her 24th European medal.

Gold for Germany’s Martin Wolfram at his “platform comeback”

In a top-level 10m platform competition Germany’s Martin Wolfram surprisingly claimed the podium’s top spot. With a total of 575.30 points the diver from Dresden eventually had a comfortable lead over defending champion Victor Minibaev of Russia (541.70). Vadim Kaptur (Belarus/491.55) achieved a third place result, taking his first ever individual medal at European Championships.

“After a three-year-long break due to injury this comeback in the platform event is just fantastic,” an overjoyed Wolfram explained. Thanks to his victory he secured not only the first gold medal for host Germany but also a quota place for the 2016 Olympic Summer Games in Rio de Janeiro. During the past competition days in Rostock the highest score of 10 was rarely given. Today, however, the judges awarded the “dream score” no less than 24 times in the platform event.

Presentation of the LEN Awards for the best “Diver of the Year 2014”

Additionally, Cagnotto was awarded another accolade: LEN Bureau Member Andriy Vlaskov (Ukraine) handed her and Germany’s Patrick Hausding the “LEN Award” as Diver of the Year 2014. Cagnotto received this award for the fifth time, while this was Hausding’s second recognition.

On Sunday, the last day of the European Championships, the men’s synchro 10m will be carried out. Germany’s World champions Patrick Hausding and Sascha Klein hope to claim their eighth consecutive European title in this event. Their strongest rivals are 2014 European silver medalists Vadim Kaptur and Yauheni Karaliou (Belarus) as well as Russia’s Victor Minibaev and Roman Izmailov.

In the women’s 3m springboard event Cagnotto might collect her 25th European Championship medal. She will face tough competition: one of her strongest rivals will be last year’s winner Nadezhda Bazhina, who already collected three medals in Rostock, among them a gold medal in the Team Event. So far, however, Bazhina has not yet claimed a gold medal in an individual event.

For photos on the medal winners and the LEN Award recipients, click on the link below:

Results, webcast and news: –